going digital

Talk about music gear for noise music

Moderator: xome

Post Reply
selder
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 11, 2018 7:11 am

going digital

Post by selder » Fri May 11, 2018 7:44 am

i've been making experimental sounds and noise since a while with mainly analogue gear. Mostly tapes, real to real, objects, acoustic and electric instruments and devices and and and and "stuff".
Since a while i feel like experimenting with some digital gear.
Actually the idea is to have some sort of pads(?) which i would use to trigger/launch fieldrecordings and samples. Also I would like to be able to do some basic processing: pitch, filter, delay, reverb.
Unfortunately, I don't know sh*t about digital hardware nor software...
I've been looking around a bit to stuff like electribe2, novation circuit and some akai sampler though these seem more suitable for beats and djs. I would like to be able to use looooong samples (10-20min fieldrecordings for example??) and this doesn't seem possible with these machines.
Is somebody aware of hardware (I prefer not using a computer) I could use to do so? or should I use a computer (I'll get used to it!)? If so which software would you recommend (at the moment I only have cubase)? and do you know of a basic hardware interface to control the samples?
There's 1 main constraint: money...
Thanks for the advice!!

Actually I guess there's another option: developing something myself in puredata or ??? and building an interface myself. But this would take me ages and a lot of sweat.... but might be fun??

User avatar
jliat
Posts: 2155
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2012 1:34 am
Contact:

Re: going digital

Post by jliat » Fri May 11, 2018 7:51 am

If you lack money and already have a computer then that's probably a good option. Audacity is free and it comes with
many of the effects you seem to want. You don't say if your Mac or Windows. If its windows I've written looping programs which will loop any length of mp3 or wav. Its easy using mediaplayer from code.

You can get Audacity for Mac / Windows.


Edit: And you can loop using audacity, mix multiple channels etc.

selder
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 11, 2018 7:11 am

Re: going digital

Post by selder » Fri May 11, 2018 7:58 am

thanks for the reply
i use a mac
audacity: i would like to launch in real time/live different samples asynchronous and don't see myself opening n different audacity instances. is there another way?
also I'm ready to invest some but not 100's

User avatar
MKULTRA
Posts: 2784
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2008 6:04 am

Re: going digital

Post by MKULTRA » Fri May 11, 2018 8:07 am

"With enough gain you can achieve anything." - C.Rochambeau

User avatar
Bipolar Fucking Joe
Posts: 5212
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2009 11:55 am

Re: going digital

Post by Bipolar Fucking Joe » Fri May 11, 2018 8:24 am

Probably the Boss desktop loopers would be your best bet if you want to stick to hardware.

Alternatively, Pure Data is a free piece of software that lets you build stuff modularly. There's a steep learning curve, but you can get more interesting results, even build a synth in it instead of using loops. I know a couple of people that use it on a tablet computer, and I use it a lot my own self, I don't mind helping out a potential new user put together a patch for it.

A similar piece of software (Paid) is Audiomulch, which is like Pure Data Lite, with built in samplers already.

User avatar
melkobukva
Posts: 202
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2018 6:35 pm

Re: going digital

Post by melkobukva » Fri May 11, 2018 9:39 am

selder wrote:
Fri May 11, 2018 7:44 am
Actually the idea is to have some sort of pads(?) which i would use to trigger/launch fieldrecordings and samples. Also I would like to be able to do some basic processing: pitch, filter, delay, reverb.
I would like to be able to use looooong samples (10-20min fieldrecordings for example??) and this doesn't seem possible with these machines.
Roland SP-404 or SP-404SX should do the trick.

As for ITB, this can be done in more or less any DAW if you have an appropriate MIDI controller.

User avatar
WhiteWarlock
Posts: 1113
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2018 7:58 am

Re: going digital

Post by WhiteWarlock » Fri May 11, 2018 10:45 am

You can learn Cycling 74 MAX/MSP for experimenting
if that is the route you want going
(hmm that gives me idea for the old original protools rig!)
and or pick up an old hardware sampler
BOSS SP-202 Dr. Sample was always in my backpack for years
it's sitting on top of the Korg DSS1 aircraft carrier now
FYI there are also digital IC chips
they run on +5v
some examples of that modern realm
would be Mutable Instruments module designs
specifically granular synthesis such as "clouds"

selder
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 11, 2018 7:11 am

Re: going digital

Post by selder » Sun May 13, 2018 1:51 am

thanks for the advice

I started my quest with looking into the
MKULTRA wrote:
Fri May 11, 2018 8:07 am

Boss SP - 202.
http://www.vintagesynth.com/roland/sp202.php
an instrument i always kind of felt reluctant to because of too much post noise new age hipsters using it (i guess it's ok to say this out loud on a noise forum? :-)) On the other hand the samples on the SP-202 are probably too short for what i have in mind (that damn hipster won again...)
melkobukva wrote:
Fri May 11, 2018 9:39 am
Roland SP-404 or SP-404SX should do the trick.
the 404 looks promissing though!
but I don't understand
melkobukva wrote:
Fri May 11, 2018 9:39 am
As for ITB, this can be done in more or less any DAW if you have an appropriate MIDI controller.
Since I'm not really looking to loop I guess I'm not in need of a
Bipolar Fucking Joe wrote:
Fri May 11, 2018 8:24 am
Boss desktop loopers
Modulars are great but not my thing (at the moment).
afterall, maybe I tend to go the computer way and study puredata or max msp with there infinite possibilities.
ANYWAY thanks again

User avatar
MKULTRA
Posts: 2784
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2008 6:04 am

Re: going digital

Post by MKULTRA » Sun May 13, 2018 2:42 am

selder wrote:
Fri May 11, 2018 7:44 am
I would like to be able to use looooong samples (10-20min fieldrecordings for example??)
That is an exceptionally long loop time. From a practicality stand point why do you want such long LOOPS?
"With enough gain you can achieve anything." - C.Rochambeau

User avatar
WhiteWarlock
Posts: 1113
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2018 7:58 am

Re: going digital

Post by WhiteWarlock » Sun May 13, 2018 4:45 am

Eye frequently use 10+ minute tracks in Nekrofile and or Nekromancer
yet it hacks them up in KAOS mode
every few specified measures bpm synced selectable from 1/32 to 32b
randomly changing playback "head" position in file
real time random automated via virtual "white noise"/static numerical data generated input algorithms
longer the more variance the better
works best for me
will make specific source files for using as Nekro Source for re-animating/mutating
those creations are not for "general public" access/use
part of my Nekro "KAOS" function sample manipulation style that took me so long(years/decade+) designing
based on old magnetic tape & sampler experiments/manipulations
will eventually attempt making hardware perform such functions via CV

selder
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 11, 2018 7:11 am

Re: going digital

Post by selder » Tue May 22, 2018 4:48 am

MKULTRA wrote:
Sun May 13, 2018 2:42 am
selder wrote:
Fri May 11, 2018 7:44 am
I would like to be able to use looooong samples (10-20min fieldrecordings for example??)
That is an exceptionally long loop time. From a practicality stand point why do you want such long LOOPS?
nah not looking to loop! ;-)

User avatar
crochambeau
Posts: 2792
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2005 12:48 pm
Location: earth.
Contact:

Re: going digital

Post by crochambeau » Tue May 22, 2018 6:18 am

In that case, many inexpensive digital recorders will allow you to "one shot" chunks of field recordings/whatever.

User avatar
Misomusist
Posts: 730
Joined: Fri May 07, 2010 7:35 pm

Re: going digital

Post by Misomusist » Tue May 22, 2018 6:41 am

I think trying to quantify music is one of the biggest wastes of time in the world, like discussing your favourite colour or deity or pizza topping. People should realise that and get on with their life.

Image

s.p.i.n.
Posts: 1396
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2009 10:58 am
Location: Left of Tampa
Contact:

Re: going digital

Post by s.p.i.n. » Tue May 22, 2018 8:34 am

selder wrote:
Fri May 11, 2018 7:44 am
There's 1 main constraint: money...
Thanks for the advice!!
Got a device that runs android? (tablets are pretty cheap)
Try downloading some noise making apps.

Squaremile
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2018 4:26 am

Re: going digital

Post by Squaremile » Wed May 23, 2018 1:34 am

You could use fruity loops as a sequencer for the digital recordings without needing the trigger hardware.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests