feedback loops in amp fx loop

Talk about music gear for noise music

Moderator: xome

Post Reply
uppinthepunx
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2018 3:16 pm

feedback loops in amp fx loop

Post by uppinthepunx » Sun Aug 05, 2018 3:27 pm

Hi all, long time lurker, first time poster.

I've searched this forum and have only found a few topics that sort of touch up on this but don't really answer my question, so I'm hoping you guys can help.

My goal: to activate a feedback loop (full of pedals I currently own & use to make harsh wall noise) but using an amplifier's fx loop instead of a traditional mixer out to a PA.

Am I understanding this right; If I go FX send out to > pedals xyz > and into the amplifier's line input then nothing will happen since nothing ever reaches the power stage of the amplifier because the FX loop send breaks the pre-amp and power section of the amp. Correct?

The other option I see that may work would be to FX send out > pedals xyz (have the pedals loop themselves with Y cables) > FX return of the amplifier. This should work? Can it blow the amp since it's re-amplifying the signal? It seems to me like if it works on a mixer it should work on an amp.

Does anyone have any experience with this? I don't have an amp with an FX loop to try yet, but am in the market for one soon if this actually is doable.

Thanks.

Online
killing raven sun
Posts: 997
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2018 2:01 pm

Re: feedback loops in amp fx loop

Post by killing raven sun » Sun Aug 05, 2018 3:53 pm

uppinthepunx wrote:
Sun Aug 05, 2018 3:27 pm
Am I understanding this right; If I go FX send out to > pedals xyz > and into the amplifier's line input then nothing will happen
yep

User avatar
crochambeau
Posts: 2822
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2005 12:48 pm
Location: earth.
Contact:

Re: feedback loops in amp fx loop

Post by crochambeau » Mon Aug 06, 2018 6:19 am

Please note, this reply was drafted in thinking about my experiences with a particular set up, and may not be applicable to the situation at hand.

If the amplifier line input you refer to is part of the preamp, then yes, signal will not reach the power amp. It should be obvious that the power amp input (which is line level) will make whatever signal applied there move a speaker.
Last edited by crochambeau on Tue Aug 07, 2018 6:57 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Misomusist
Posts: 741
Joined: Fri May 07, 2010 7:35 pm

Re: feedback loops in amp fx loop

Post by Misomusist » Mon Aug 06, 2018 2:04 pm

Hate to be the yay-sayer, but it might work.

A lot of amps don't disconnect the preamp from the power amp unless you plug into the FX return, I've used FX send as a slave out before, so it may work to feed it back in to the instrument input (dunno where the line input is). Try it, worst that can happen is the world will implode :mrgreen:

If it doesn't work, get a Y-cable, one end in FX send, one in FX return, one in your pedal chain. :chin:
I think trying to quantify music is one of the biggest wastes of time in the world, like discussing your favourite colour or deity or pizza topping. People should realise that and get on with their life.

Image

User avatar
Fletcher
Posts: 236
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2017 2:43 pm
Location: Oxfordshire
Contact:

Re: feedback loops in amp fx loop

Post by Fletcher » Tue Aug 07, 2018 2:29 am

Misomusist wrote:
Mon Aug 06, 2018 2:04 pm

If it doesn't work, get a Y-cable, one end in FX send, one in FX return, one in your pedal chain. :chin:
This is what I do, and it works fine
www.snarerush.co.uk
An electronic music zine in occasional print format

User avatar
crochambeau
Posts: 2822
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2005 12:48 pm
Location: earth.
Contact:

Re: feedback loops in amp fx loop

Post by crochambeau » Tue Aug 07, 2018 6:54 am

Misomusist wrote:
Mon Aug 06, 2018 2:04 pm
Hate to be the yay-sayer, but it might work.
You're absolutely correct, without a spec sheet or schematic or first hand experience with the amplifier in question it is improbable we can give a definitive response.

User avatar
MKULTRA
Posts: 2777
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2008 6:04 am

Re: feedback loops in amp fx loop

Post by MKULTRA » Tue Aug 07, 2018 9:00 am

[
Last edited by MKULTRA on Fri Aug 24, 2018 2:10 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
WhiteWarlock
Posts: 1896
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2018 7:58 am

Re: feedback loops in amp fx loop

Post by WhiteWarlock » Tue Aug 07, 2018 9:36 am

like what?
how about
Where's your mixer?
your can make simple Y pedal
that has potentiometer on your feedback out line
or even solder custom Y cable with knob on one of the outputs
you should pull feedback from the opamps/gain stages in your pedal chain
and/or use pedals in fx send return....
then Y cable back into input
just theory random guess without having any real clue about your gear

User avatar
crochambeau
Posts: 2822
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2005 12:48 pm
Location: earth.
Contact:

Re: feedback loops in amp fx loop

Post by crochambeau » Tue Aug 07, 2018 9:49 am

MKULTRA wrote:
Tue Aug 07, 2018 9:00 am
Would it be out of line to ask the obvious question?
You mean ask about the part number involved? BLASPHEMY

User avatar
MKULTRA
Posts: 2777
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2008 6:04 am

Re: feedback loops in amp fx loop

Post by MKULTRA » Tue Aug 07, 2018 11:03 am

.
Last edited by MKULTRA on Fri Aug 24, 2018 2:09 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
crochambeau
Posts: 2822
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2005 12:48 pm
Location: earth.
Contact:

Re: feedback loops in amp fx loop

Post by crochambeau » Tue Aug 07, 2018 11:05 am

:lol:

According to the original post, it doesn't exist yet, so we're all just pissing in the wind.

User avatar
WhiteWarlock
Posts: 1896
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2018 7:58 am

Re: feedback loops in amp fx loop

Post by WhiteWarlock » Tue Aug 07, 2018 11:07 am

ugh don't make me power up the furry wedge cat scratcher behringer bass amp for testing the FX loop....

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests