Beginner Noise Setup Advice

Talk about music gear for noise music

Moderator: xome

obscurisvera

Beginner Noise Setup Advice

Post by obscurisvera » Sun Mar 19, 2017 3:09 pm

My Gear: Ableton Live, MS20mini, Sony TCM-DV400 (cassette recorder and player), Audio Interface
I'm quite new to noise, since I've always listened to more conventional electronic music, I recently discovered Moral Defeat (https://moraldefeat.bandcamp.com/music) a Danish noise record label and fell in love with the genre.
I've tried producing something -> https://soundcloud.com/obscurisverainvo ... ad-no-face
but I would like to know more about noise production techniques, mainly I would like to know what are the most common effects to use and which pedals/vst you suggest me to start with. I also bought a contact/pickup/piezo (call it what you want) microphone, but it looks like it doesn't work so I'm going to replace it soon.
I'm after ethnic and occult rythmics and industrial overtones, but I would like to include some crazy noise/power electronics in my productions.
I live in Venice, Italy and in this island it's hard even to find a shop that sells mono cables so it's hard for me to go to a store and try out gear, internet is my primary source of information regarding techniques and gear, what do you suggest me to buy/do?
Thanks in advance and sorry for the repetitive thread

xdugef

Re: Beginner Noise Setup Advice

Post by xdugef » Sun Mar 19, 2017 3:30 pm

obscurisvera wrote:
Sun Mar 19, 2017 3:09 pm
My Gear: Ableton Live, MS20mini, Sony TCM-DV400 (cassette recorder and player), Audio Interface
I'm quite new to noise, since I've always listened to more conventional electronic music, I recently discovered Moral Defeat (https://moraldefeat.bandcamp.com/music) a Danish noise record label and fell in love with the genre.
I've tried producing something -> https://soundcloud.com/obscurisverainvo ... ad-no-face