Page 2 of 2

Re: CB (HAM) Radio in noise setup??

Posted: Mon Aug 13, 2018 9:42 am
by crochambeau
I believe if you grab the signal before feeding it into the amplifier stage you'll have HF at a line level.

From there you only need to demodulate it back into the audio bandwidth. For those playing at home, it is highly recommended to have a completely different system doing decoding, as then you can introduce slop in the carrier frequency...

Re: CB (HAM) Radio in noise setup??

Posted: Mon Aug 13, 2018 9:57 am
by MKULTRA
.

Re: CB (HAM) Radio in noise setup??

Posted: Mon Aug 13, 2018 9:57 am
by WhiteWarlock
Image
was just using that old CB base making sure it still works
talking with truckers about whiskey & blueberry poptarts

Re: CB (HAM) Radio in noise setup??

Posted: Mon Aug 13, 2018 10:03 am
by WhiteWarlock
Image
used to record shortwave noise in the 90s
running it as filter in noise signal
with yamaha cs5 and/or Pro One
plus chopping it up with Digitech PDS1002

Re: CB (HAM) Radio in noise setup??

Posted: Mon Aug 13, 2018 10:06 am
by WhiteWarlock
honestly really have been wanting Hammy SW transciever
maybe an old Viking
or heathkit

Re: CB (HAM) Radio in noise setup??

Posted: Mon Aug 13, 2018 2:19 pm
by Misomusist
crochambeau wrote:
Mon Aug 13, 2018 9:14 am
Some of those CB mics want a voltage across the element, others can be punched right into a signal path with a simple change of connector.
Carbon granules or condenser?

What is the best way to use a carbon granule element, polarizing voltage and a blocking cap?

Re: CB (HAM) Radio in noise setup??

Posted: Mon Aug 13, 2018 3:30 pm
by crochambeau
Misomusist wrote:
Mon Aug 13, 2018 2:19 pm
crochambeau wrote:
Mon Aug 13, 2018 9:14 am
Some of those CB mics want a voltage across the element, others can be punched right into a signal path with a simple change of connector.
Carbon granules or condenser?

What is the best way to use a carbon granule element, polarizing voltage and a blocking cap?
Yeah, both carbons and condensers need power. I think they used to use transformers for blocking DC, as they'll also provide for an impedance change, but slapping a cap in line and feeding a high impedance input should work fine. I'd start with no voltage and nudge it up to where it just works.

Crystal and Dynamic mics need no power, but also can benefit from a transformer.

Who are we kidding though, plug 'em in and rage.

Re: CB (HAM) Radio in noise setup??

Posted: Wed Aug 15, 2018 2:36 pm
by Misomusist
I've recorded phone conversations plugging bare wires from a phone jack into an XLR on my mixer. 48V DC be dammed! :eew: